I’d like to hear some feedback on this.

For those of you who have ever written and published a book, what was one or the most frustrating and/or surprising things about the journey?

Was it the fact your friends seemed reluctant to read your book, no matter how inexpensive or even free it was? – This was surprising to me, I mean friends are friends right, you pretty much expect them to grab your book and see what its all about. Didn’t happen. I don’t think I’m alone because recently I’ve read about this happening to other authors. Still, it was a surprise. The feeling I got, and it was just a feeling, was that supporting me would grant success they themselves aren’t experiencing. I’m curious what others have experienced.

Was it the marketing experience? – It’s kind of overwhelming isn’t it. As in, it makes writing the book seem easy by comparison. The self-publishing world is developing and changing so fast that just staying up with it is a challenge, let alone trying to figure it all out as a Newbie. Easy to spend a lot of money here without getting much in return. I’m really curious to hear what people have found works for them.

Was it the feeling of being taken advantage of by the sharks known as publishers? – A new fish in these waters can only be called on thing – BAIT! The sharks that swim these waters are experienced sham artists that make used car salesmen look like saints. I have since learned of better avenues down which to proceed when I publish my second book, at least better than the way I went the first time, but all of them seem to be black holes attempting to fill themselves with money. Which can only be right – right? After all, self-published authors are main stream publishers rejects correct? Well you certainly get that feeling from them. In real life they are probably all warm and fuzzy. This is an area I wish to learn more about and welcome any feedback regarding publishers you feel you could recommend.

Of course the experience wasn’t all negative. There is a lot of satisfaction in producing your first novel that is priceless in many ways. And since my intention was never to get rich, but to simply write a book others would enjoy while enjoying the writing process myself, I consider it all a great success. The pitfalls mentioned above are just that, and anything self-published authors can do to help other new authors avoid them should always be offered for they take away from an otherwise amazing adventure, the adventure of writing your first book and seeing it published.

Would love to hear some feedback on this. Have a great day everyone!

Comments
  1. Rachael says:

    I’ve literally only just self-published my first book this week, but I’ve been trying to market it for months prior. I think the trickiest bit is making your book sound appealing without shoving it in everyone’s face. My book’s free at the moment and I’ve left comments on several Google + groups (in the appropriate sections as politeness dictates) but who knows if anyone will notice me among the crowds of other people there! Finding a way to communicate and appeal to readers without coming across as obnoxious (you know, all those loud insistent posts that someones cut and past everywhere ‘READ MY BOOK ITS FREE AND GOOD. READ IT’. that sort of thing.) that’s the hardest thing for me so far.

  2. First of all, congratulations. The road to publishing is not easy and anyone who makes the journey should feel a certainly level of accomplishment. So way to go! I’ve published just the one book also, and what I’m learning about marketing is that is something you just have to stay with. Search out the web sites that do reviews or help get your book out there. That’s really all I know. It can be frustrating, but I’ve kind moved past that. I love to write, have received great feedback and will soon get busy writing the sequel to Truth’s Blood just because I love the story! I’ve learned few things from the feedback I’ve received and there’s no doubt the second book will be even better. Be open to criticism. It’s going to happen. Some folks just wont “get it”, but most really do offer something you can learn from. Best of luck to you Rachael. Your not alone. We all fight the same battles.

  3. nolabels says:

    The most challenging part for me has been the marketing: to try and get people to read your work without it appearing as if you are begging. Even when there are times where you are doing an exchange (like I’ll review your book/you will review mine), some people don’t even adhere to that arrangement. That part can be a bit aggravating. The whole process of even getting someone to provide a review–that part means a lot, whether it is good, bad, indifferent. If it’s good, it helps the self-esteem quite a bit, may give extra motivation to continue. If it’s not so good, then to be open to the feedback–provided that it’s constructive.

    Congrats on Truth’s Blood as well as your upcoming sequel. I’ve started on the read and I’m pleased with what I see so far.

Leave a Reply

